Come this way

Black Chant

black chant

“Come this way” — some say with sweet eyes,
Opening their arms, and sure
That it could be good that I would listen to them
When they say: “Come this way”!
I look at them with unattached eyes,
(In my eyes there is irony and tiredness)
And I cross my arms,
And I never go that way…
This is my glory:
To create inhumanity!
Never to accompany anybody.
—For I live with the same unwillingness
I teared my mother’s womb with.
No, I won’t go that way! I only go through where
My own steps take me…
If what I search to know none of you can answer,
Why do you repeat: “Come this way”?
I prefer to slide on muddy corners,
To whirl at the wind,
Like rags, to drag my bleeding feet,
Than to go that way…
If I came to the world, was
Only to deflower virgin rain-forests,
And to draw my own feet on the unexplored sand!
All the rest I do is worth nothing.
How come you are the ones
Who will give me axes, tools and courage,
For I to throw down my obstacles?…
It runs, in your veins, the old blood of the grand-parents,
And you love what is easy!
I love the Far and the Mirage,
I love the abysses, the torrents, the deserts…
Go! you have roads,
You have gardens, you have flower-beds,
You have homelands, you have roofs,
And you have rules, and treatises, and philosophers, and wisemen.
I have my Madness!
I hold it high, like a torch, burning in the dark night,
And I feel foam, and blood, and chants on the lips…
God and the Devil are the ones who guide me, nobody else.
All of you had a father, all of you had a mother;
But I, who never start or end,
I was born from the love between God and the Devil.
Hah! That nobody gives me pious intentions!
That nobody asks me for definitions!
That nobody tells me: “Come this way”!
My life is a storm-wind that got unlocked.
It is a wave that has risen.
It is an extra atom that got animated…
I don’t know where I’m going through,
I don’t know where I’m going,
—I know I’m not going that way.

This is a (poor) translation of a  poem called, ‘cântigo negro‘ (Black Chant) written by a portuguese poet called, José Régio and one of my all time favorites. Lazy doing no justice to outfit pics by yours truly ❤ Uma

black chant II

Details :

Hair  – ‘Pushed and shoved’ (blonde tones) (slightly modded) by VW

Skin – ‘April’ Petal [Dark] – Tulip 2′ by Curio/Gala Phoenix

Hat – ‘Ladybird hat’ by Chapeau Tres Mignon

Collar – (part of) ”Falling Leaves” by Paper Couture

Jacket (feathers) – (part of) ‘giacca brickfeather . cross’ by *bf* (bianca foulon)

Corset – ‘Altra Corsetta’ by [S-P] (creator – disembodied hand)

Skirt – (part of) ‘going out piume’ by *bf*

Leggings – ‘cherry blossom’ by *Kookie*

Boots and socks – ‘Button boots and brown prim socks’ by Shiny Things

10 thoughts on “Come this way

  1. Evelyn says:

    very cool outfit. I sorted my pictures out finally! I love the vw hair so i went and bought it yesterday. Looked shit with my old shape and skin but now ive got the new one it looks awesome 😀 Thanks for all your help and advice Uma, you are a star! hehe xx

  2. Eve Kazan says:

    why do you not use place in secondlife for ur photo ?
    Your work is always perfect but it’s always with a background insignifiant, there is so amazing place in SL …

  3. Uma Ceawlin says:

    \o/ Tomoyo ❤ thank you, more unusual/abstract less wearable 😄

    Aw Evelyn, thank you!..and nice to know that, and you’re most welcome, anytime.

    That’s what I was looking for, glad you like it Emy!!..Im known for eccentric, might aswell make my outfits match (SOMETIMES)! 🙂

    stokki <3, at least someone did!!! 😄 thats why i ❤ u and thank you!

    Eve, I understand what you mean and to some point I kind of agree. Taking pics in world is not my thing, well not usually, and I try to make it simple for blog and focus on the outfits though I will give it a chance one of these days or in some posts. Thanks for the advise. On a small note, I presume you’re not english, so I understand, but I’d advise you to think of how you say things, before you say them, might come across as rude sometimes. xo

  4. ohmyohmai says:

    aren’t you the most fabulous thing alive — or in sl world lol that poem is lovely — did you do the translation as well? Cause I think it’s really wonderfully translated ^^
    I love the look, it’s not as wearable as what you often do; but still really well put together. That shot with the frame added into it really just makes you stop and stare; loveeee loveee~~

  5. Uma Ceawlin says:

    Mariaaaaaaaa, me too. It’s one of my all time favorites. Se ouvisse alguém recitá-lo, como acredito que o teu amigo o faça, acho q me arrepiava toda. ehe. ❤

    Ohmyohmaiohmygod!..Lol, no I didn’t translate it myself, however I have changed some parts to what I thought to be more suitable/better. ❤
    Thank youuuu, sometimes I like doing different, more outrageous (?) or as someone told me ‘artsy fag’ like, outfits. That’s the abstract in me I guesss. Not wearable, but could be perfectly translated to something wearable (minus the wood corset and probably less feathers) ehe.

    Thank you faraahhh!! ^^

Leave a Reply

